This is an advanced guide on research with key fundamental tools and resources. Topics are as follows:
- Author Impact: The Web of Science database (with SCIE and SSCI) links citations to explore subject connections between articles by experts in your field.
- Journal Impact Factor: This is the most well-known metric to fully understand statistical data as well as systematically, objectively evaluate the world’s leading journals as presented by Journal Citation Reports.
- findMyJournal, a selection tool: The publication of hard-earned findings in an authoritative journal with high visibility that matches the research topic is extremely crucial and not an easy task.
How? findMyJournal can help you in selecting the most suitable journals for your article.
- Strategies on predatory journals: Driven solely by profit, predatory journals with dubious quality and editorial oversight lures unsuspecting scholars under pressure to publish with promises of fast return times, false claims, and exorbitant prices. We will teach identification methods.
- Quick access to electronic full-texts with Google Scholar: Most people are used to Googling information on the Internet will learn ingenuous tricks for obtaining desired electronic full-texts with Google Scholar and setting up alerts for the latest literature and news on specific topics.
- Research Alert: Making good use of information technology is vital in today’s fast-paced and overloaded world. This instant-messaging service provided by major databases help researchers quickly access or stay current with the latest literature required, thereby alleviating worries over collecting data and freeing up more time to focus on the subject matter.
- Common browser plugins:
- Kopernio: Integrated into the WOS platform to increase usage by institutional repositories, this is a free online tool connected to over 20,000 journal websites, platforms, databases, open-access sources, and search engines for legal one-click downloads of full-texts.
- Open Access Button: With instant delivery of free full-texts and automatic legal requests to authors, you only need to complete application for the latter case without creating an account.
- Unpaywall: Integrated with open access databases and developed by foreign NGO Impactstory in collaboration with reputable publishers, it allows free, instant download to full-text papers or articles by importing data and integrating system functions.
