The Respiratory System at a Glance by
The Respiratory System at a Glance The market-leading at a Glance series is popular among healthcare students and newly qualified practitioners for its concise, simple approach and excellent illustrations. Each bite-sized chapter is covered in a double-page spread with clear, easy-to-follow diagrams, supported by succinct explanatory text. Covering a wide range of topics, books in the at a Glance series are ideal as introductory texts for teaching, learning and revision, and are useful throughout university and beyond. Everything you need to know about The Respiratory System... at a Glance! Highly-illustrated overview of the structure and function of the lungs and airways, with sections on history, examination, pathophysiology, treatment and management Respiratory System at a Glance is a comprehensive guide to normal lung structure and function and associated pathophysiology, featuring key information on all major respiratory disorders. As per the familiar, easy-to-use 'at a Glance' format, each topic is presented as a double-page spread, with key facts accompanied by clear diagrams that encapsulate essential knowledge. This 'one-stop' resource has been revised and updated for this 5thedition to include recent advances in our understanding and/or treatment of asthma, COPD, pulmonary vasculitis, sarcoidosis, cystic fibrosis, respiratory infections (including COVID-19), and the most recent national clinical management guidelines. The accompanying website includes self-assessment case studies, flashcards and MCQs to support learning or for review. Respiratory System at a Glance also provides information on: Structure and function of the respiratory system, the thoracic cage and respiratory muscles, gas laws, diffusion, and elastic forces Acid-base balance and disorders, control of breathing through chemical and neural mechanisms, and pulmonary circulation and ventilation-perfusion matching Exercise, altitude, and diving, complications of development and congenital disease, lung defense mechanisms, and immunology of the lungs Public health and smoking, respiratory failure, and the pathophysiology and management of asthma, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease and other respiratory disorders With accompanying self-assessment clinical cases and multiple-choice questions, The Respiratory System at a Glance is the ideal companion for anyone about to start a respiratory module or rotation, and will appeal to medical students and junior doctors, as well as nurses, dentists, physiotherapists, technicians, and biomedical scientists. For more information on the complete range of Wiley nursing and health publishing, please visit: www.wiley.com To receive automatic updates on Wiley books and journals, join our email list. Sign up today at www.wiley.com/email All content reviewed by students for students Wiley Medical Education books are designed exactly for their intended audience. All of our books are developed in collaboration with students. This means that our books are always published with you, the student, in mind. If you would like to be one of our student reviewers, go to www.reviewmedicalbooks.com to find out more. This new edition is also available as an e-book. For more details, please see www.wiley.com
The Respiratory System by
The Systems of the Body series has established itself as a highly valuable resource for medical and other health science students following today's systems-based courses. Now thoroughly revised and updated in this third edition, each volume presents the core knowledge of basic science and clinical conditions that medical students need, providing a concise, fully integrated view of each major body system that can be hard to find in more traditionally arranged textbooks or other resources. Multiple case studies help relate key principles to current practice, with links to clinical skills, clinical investigation and therapeutics made clear throughout. Each (print) volume also now comes with access to the complete, enhanced eBook version, offering easy anytime, anywhere access - as well as self-assessment material to check your understanding and aid exam preparation. The Respiratory System provides highly accessible coverage of the core basic science principles in the context of clinical case histories, giving the reader a fully integrated understanding of the system and its major diseases. Introduction Structure and function of the respiratory system Elastic properties of the respiratory system Airflow and resistance in the respiratory system Pulmonary Ventilation Diffusion of Gases between air and blood The Pulmonary Circulation Carriage of gases by the blood and acid/base balance Nervous control of breathing Chemical control of breathing Lung function tests Systems of the Body Series: The Renal System The Musculoskeletal System The Nervous System The Digestive System The Endocrine System The Respiratory System The Cardiovascular System
Global Citizenship by
The idea of global citizenship is that human beings are "citizens of the world." Whether or not we are global citizens is a topic of great dispute, however those who take part in the debate agree that a global citizen is a member of the wider community of humanity, the world, or a similar whole which is wider than that of a nation-state or other political community of which we are normally thought to be citizens. Through four main sections, the contributors to Global Citizenship discuss global challenges and attempt to define the ways in which globalization is changing the world in which we live. Offering a breadth of coverage to the core rheme of the individual in a global world, Global Citizenship combines two factors-the idea of global responsibility and the development of institutional structures through which this responsibility can be exercised.
Braunwald's Heart Disease, 2 Vol Set by
**Selected for Doody's Core Titles® 2024 with "Essential Purchase" designation in Cardiology** Current, comprehensive, and evidence-based Braunwald's Heart Disease remains the most trusted reference in the field and the leading source of reliable cardiology information for practitioners and trainees worldwide. The fully updated 12th Edition continues the tradition of excellence with dependable, state-of-the-art coverage of new drugs, new guidelines, more powerful imaging modalities, and recent developments in precision medicine that continue to change and advance the practice of cardiovascular medicine. Written and edited by global experts in the field, this award-winning text is an unparalleled multimedia reference for every aspect of this complex and fast-changing area. Offers balanced, dependable content on rapidly changing clinical science, clinical and translational research, and evidence-based medicine. Includes 76 new contributing authors and 14 new chapters that cover Artificial intelligence in Cardiovascular Medicine; Wearables; Influenza, Pandemics, COVID-19, and Cardiovascular Disease; Tobacco and Nicotine Products in Cardiovascular Disease; Cardiac Amyloidosis; Impact of the Environment on Cardiovascular Health, and more. Features a new introductory chapter Cardiovascular Disease: Past, Present, and Future by Eugene Braunwald, MD, offering his unique, visionary approach to the field of cardiology. Dr. Braunwald also curates the extensive, bimonthly online updates that include "Hot Off the Press" (with links to Practice Update) and "Late-Breaking Clinical Trials". Provides cutting-edge coverage of key topics such as proteomics and metabolomics, TAVR, diabetocardiology, and cardio-oncology. Contains 1,850 high-quality illustrations, radiographic images, algorithms, and charts, and provides access to 215 videos called out with icons in the print version. Highlights the latest AHA, ACC, and ESC guidelines to clearly summarize diagnostic criteria and clinical implications. Provides tightly edited, focused content for quick, dependable reference. Flexible format options include either one or two volumes in print, as well as a searchable eBook with ongoing updates. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Hazzard's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, Eighth Edition by
The undisputed leader on the subject of geriatrics--updated to reflect the most recent advances in the field A Doody's Core Title for 2024 & 2023! The leading text on the subject of geriatrics, this comprehensive guide combines gerontology principles with clinical geriatrics, offering unmatched coverage of this area of medicine. Anchored in evidence-based medicine and patient-centered practice, Hazzard's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology presents the most up-to-date, medical information available. This updated eighth edition reflects the continued growth and increasing sophistication of geriatrics as a defined medical discipline. The book focuses on the implementation of key concepts and covers the foundation for geriatrics, as well as frequently encountered syndromes found in older adults. In addition, it provides valuable insights into the simultaneous management of multiple conditions, including psychological and social issues and their interactions, an intrinsic aspect of geriatric patient care. Features: A greater emphasize on the growing knowledge base for key topics in the field, including gerontology, geriatrics, geriatric conditions, and palliative medicine NEW chapters on: Social Determinants of Health, Health Disparities and Health Equity Age Friendly Care Geriatrics Around the World The Patient Perspective Substance Use and Disorders Applied Clinical Geroscience Managing the Care of Patients with Multiple Chronic Conditions UPDATED contributions from a respected and diverse team of geriatricians and subspecialists to reflect clinical breakthroughs and advances NEW: Extensive coverage of the COVID-19 pandemic and its impact on vulnerable older adults Updated Learning Objectives and Key Clinical Points Hundreds of full-color images A Doody's Core Title for 2022!
本館館藏資源以配合校內師生教學研究之需要為主，舉凡相關之圖書、期刊、多媒體資料、電子資源等均予蒐藏。
圖書/期刊 Books & Journals
電子資源 Electronic Resources
Copyright © National Chung Hsing University
版權所有 國立中興大學
