Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
好書推薦 Books for you
Mathematical Statistics with Applications in R by Mathematical Statistics with Applications in R, Third Edition, offers a modern calculus-based theoretical introduction to mathematical statistics and applications. The book covers many modern statistical computational and simulation concepts that are not covered in other texts, such as the Jackknife, bootstrap methods, the EM algorithms, and Markov chain Monte Carlo (MCMC) methods, such as the Metropolis algorithm, Metropolis-Hastings algorithm and the Gibbs sampler. By combining discussion on the theory of statistics with a wealth of real-world applications, the book helps students to approach statistical problem-solving in a logical manner. Step-by-step procedure to solve real problems make the topics very accessible.
Publication Date: 2020-07-21
Statistics Hacks by Want to calculate the probability that an event will happen? Be able to spot fake data? Prove beyond doubt whether one thing causes another? Or learn to be a better gambler? You can do that and much more with 75 practical and fun hacks packed into Statistics Hacks. These cool tips, tricks, and mind-boggling solutions from the world of statistics, measurement, and research methods will not only amaze and entertain you, but will give you an advantage in several real-world situations-including business. This book is ideal for anyone who likes puzzles, brainteasers, games, gambling, magic tricks, and those who want to apply math and science to everyday circumstances. Several hacks in the first chapter alone-such as the "central limit theorem,", which allows you to know everything by knowing just a little-serve as sound approaches for marketing and other business objectives. Using the tools of inferential statistics, you can understand the way probability works, discover relationships, predict events with uncanny accuracy, and even make a little money with a well-placed wager here and there. Statistics Hacks presents useful techniques from statistics, educational and psychological measurement, and experimental research to help you solve a variety of problems in business, games, and life. You'll learn how to: Play smart when you play Texas Hold 'Em, blackjack, roulette, dice games, or even the lottery Design your own winnable bar bets to make money and amaze your friends Predict the outcomes of baseball games, know when to "go for two" in football, and anticipate the winners of other sporting events with surprising accuracy Demystify amazing coincidences and distinguish the truly random from the only seemingly random--even keep your iPod's "random" shuffle honest Spot fraudulent data, detect plagiarism, and break codes How to isolate the effects of observation on the thing observed Whether you're a statistics enthusiast who does calculations in your sleep or a civilian who is entertained by clever solutions to interesting problems, Statistics Hacks has tools to give you an edge over the world's slim odds.
Publication Date: 2006-05-30
Introduction to Statistics and Data Analysis by Peck, Short, and Olsen�s INTRODUCTION TO STATISTICS AND DATA ANALYSIS, 6th Edition stresses interpretation and communication of statistical information through hands-on, activity based learning using real data in order to get you thinking statistically. This 6th Edition contains new sections on randomization-based inference: bootstrap methods for simulation-based confidence intervals and randomization tests of hypotheses. These new sections are accompanied by online Shiny apps, which can be used to construct bootstrap confidence intervals and to carry out randomization tests. In addition, a new visualization tool at statistics.cengage.com will help you understand these new concepts. WebAssign for Statistics accompanies this text. Designed by educators, WebAssign helps you learn not just do homework. WebAssign grants access to the ebook, assessments and analytics to enable you to be a self-sufficient learner and help you succeed in your course.
Publication Date: 2019-01-01
Statistical Analysis with Missing Data by An up-to-date, comprehensive treatment of a classic text on missing data in statistics The topic of missing data has gained considerable attention in recent decades. This new edition by two acknowledged experts on the subject offers an up-to-date account of practical methodology for handling missing data problems. Blending theory and application, authors Roderick Little and Donald Rubin review historical approaches to the subject and describe simple methods for multivariate analysis with missing values. They then provide a coherent theory for analysis of problems based on likelihoods derived from statistical models for the data and the missing data mechanism, and then they apply the theory to a wide range of important missing data problems. Statistical Analysis with Missing Data, Third Edition starts by introducing readers to the subject and approaches toward solving it. It looks at the patterns and mechanisms that create the missing data, as well as a taxonomy of missing data. It then goes on to examine missing data in experiments, before discussing complete-case and available-case analysis, including weighting methods. The new edition expands its coverage to include recent work on topics such as nonresponse in sample surveys, causal inference, diagnostic methods, and sensitivity analysis, among a host of other topics. An updated "classic" written by renowned authorities on the subject Features over 150 exercises (including many new ones) Covers recent work on important methods like multiple imputation, robust alternatives to weighting, and Bayesian methods Revises previous topics based on past student feedback and class experience Contains an updated and expanded bibliography The authors were awarded The Karl Pearson Prize in 2017 by the International Statistical Institute, for a research contribution that has had profound influence on statistical theory, methodology or applications. Their work "has been no less than defining and transforming." (ISI) Statistical Analysis with Missing Data, Third Edition is an ideal textbook for upper undergraduate and/or beginning graduate level students of the subject. It is also an excellent source of information for applied statisticians and practitioners in government and industry.
Publication Date: 2019-04-23
Introduction to Mathematical Statistics by For courses in mathematical statistics. Comprehensive coverage of mathematical statistics -- with a proven approach Introduction to Mathematical Statistics by Hogg, McKean, and Craig enhances student comprehension and retention with numerous, illustrative examples and exercises. Classical statistical inference procedures in estimation and testing are explored extensively, and the text's flexible organization makes it ideal for a range of mathematical statistics courses. Substantial changes to the 8th Edition -- many based on user feedback -- help students appreciate the connection between statistical theory and statistical practice, while other changes enhance the development and discussion of the statistical theory presented. 0134686993 / 9780134686998 Introduction to Mathematical Statistics, 8/e
Publication Date: 2018-01-10
館藏資源 Collections Search
圖書/期刊 Books & Journals
電子資源 Electronic Resources
Copyright © National Chung Hsing University