Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
好書推薦 Books for you
Theoretical Fluid Dynamics by This textbook gives an introduction to fluid dynamics based on flows for which analytical solutions exist, like individual vortices, vortex streets, vortex sheets, accretions disks, wakes, jets, cavities, shallow water waves, bores, tides, linear and non-linear free-surface waves, capillary waves, internal gravity waves and shocks. Advanced mathematical techniques ("calculus") are introduced and applied to obtain these solutions, mostly from complex function theory (Schwarz-Christoffel theorem and Wiener-Hopf technique), exterior calculus, singularity theory, asymptotic analysis, the theory of linear and nonlinear integral equations and the theory of characteristics. Many of the derivations, so far contained only in research journals, are made available here to a wider public.
Publication Date: 2020
Evanescent Waves in Optics by This monograph provides an introductory discussion of evanescent waves and plasmons, describes their properties and uses, and shows how they are fundamental when operating with nanoscale optics. Far field optics is not suitable for the design, description, and operation of devices at this nanometre scale. Instead one must work with models based on near-field optics and surface evanescent waves. The new discipline of plasmonics has grown to encompass the generation and application of plasmons both as a travelling excitation in a nanostructure and as a stationary enhancement of the electrical field near metal nanosurfaces. The book begins with a brief review of the basic concepts of electromagnetism, then introduces evanescent waves through reflection and refraction, and shows how they appear in diffraction problems, before discussing the role that they play in optical waveguides and sensors. The application of evanescent waves in super-resolution devices is briefly presented, before plasmons are introduced. The surface plasmon polaritons (SPPs) are then treated, highlighting their potential applications also in ultra-compact circuitry. The book concludes with a discussion of the quantization of evanescent waves and quantum information processing. The book is intended for students and researchers who wish to enter the field or to have some insight into the matter. It is not a textbook but simply an introduction to more complete and in-depth discussions. The field of plasmonics has exploded in the last ten years, and most of the material treated in this book is scattered in original or review papers. A short comprehensive treatment is missing; this book is intended to provide just that.
Publication Date: 2017
Problems and Solutions on Optics (Second Edition) by This volume is a compilation of carefully selected questions at the PhD qualifying exam level, including many actual questions from Columbia University, University of Chicago, MIT, State University of New York at Buffalo, Princeton University, University of Wisconsin and the University of California at Berkeley over a twenty-year period. Topics covered in this book include geometrical optics, quantum optics, and wave optics.This latest edition has been updated with more problems and solutions, bringing the total to over 200 problems. The original problems have been modernized, and outdated questions removed, placing emphasis on those that rely on calculations. The problems range from fundamental to advanced in a wide range of topics on optics, easily enhancing the student's knowledge through workable exercises. Simple-to-solve problems play a useful role as a first check of the student's level of knowledge whereas difficult problems will challenge the student's capacity on finding the solutions.
Publication Date: 2019
Advanced Quantum Condensed Matter Physics by Condensed matter physics has fast become the largest discipline within physics. Based on an established course, this comprehensive textbook covers one-body, many-body and topological perspectives. It is the first textbook that presents a comprehensive coverage of topological aspects of condensed matter as a distinct yet integrated component. It covers topological fundamentals and their connection to physics, introduces Berry phase and Chern numbers, describes general topological features of band structures and delineates its classification. Applications as manifest in the quantum Hall effect, topological insulators and Weyl semimetal are presented. Modern topics of current interest are explored in-depth, helping students prepare for cutting-edge research. These include one-electron band theory, path integrals and coherent states functional integrals as well as Green and Matsubara functions, spontaneous symmetry breaking, superfluidity and superconductivity. Multiple chapters covering quantum magnetism are also included. With end-of-chapter exercises throughout, it is ideal for graduate students studying advanced condensed matter physics.
Publication Date: 2020
The Rock Physics Handbook by Responding to the latest developments in rock physics research, this popular reference book has been thoroughly updated while retaining its comprehensive coverage of the fundamental theory, concepts, and laboratory results. It brings together the vast literature from the field to address the relationships between geophysical observations and the underlying physical properties of Earth materials - including water, hydrocarbons, gases, minerals, rocks, ice, magma and methane hydrates. This third edition includes expanded coverage of topics such as effective medium models, viscoelasticity, attenuation, anisotropy, electrical-elastic cross relations, and highlights applications in unconventional reservoirs. Appendices have been enhanced with new materials and properties, while worked examples (supplemented by online datasets and MATLAB® codes) enable readers to implement the workflows and models in practice. This significantly revised edition will continue to be the go-to reference for students and researchers interested in rock physics, near-surface geophysics, seismology, and professionals in the oil and gas industries.
Publication Date: 2020
館藏資源 Collections Search
圖書/期刊 Books & Journals
電子資源 Electronic Resources
Copyright © National Chung Hsing University