Microwave Polarizers, Power Dividers, Phase Shifters, Circulators and Switches by Joseph HelszajnDiscusses the fundamental principles of the design and development of microwave satellite switches utilized in military, commercial, space, and terrestrial communication This book deals with important RF/microwave components such as switches and phase shifters, which are relevant to many RF/microwave applications. It provides the reader with fundamental principles of the operation of some basic ferrite control devices and explains their system uses. This in-depth exploration begins by reviewing traditional nonreciprocal components, such as circulators, and then proceeds to discuss the most recent advances. This sequential approach connects theoretical and scientific characteristics of the devices listed in the title with practical understanding and implementation in the real world. Microwave Polarizers, Power Dividers, Phase Shifters, Circulators and Switches covers the full scope of the subject matter and serves as both an educational text and resource for practitioners. Among the many topics discussed are microwave switching, circular polarization, planar wye and equilateral triangle resonators, and many others. Translates concepts and ideas fundamental to scientific knowledge into a more visual description Describes a wide array of devices including waveguides, shifters, and circulators Covers the use of finite element algorithms in design Microwave Polarizers, Power Dividers, Phase Shifters, Circulators and Switches is an ideal reference for all practitioners and graduate students involved in this niche field.
Call Number: 621.38133 H369
Publication Date: 2019
Wireless Technologies for the Internet of Things by Daniel ChewProvides a detailed analysis of the standards and technologies enabling applications for the wireless Internet of Things The Wireless Internet of Things: A Guide to the Lower Layers presents a practitioner's perspective toward the Internet of Things (IoT) focusing on over-the-air interfaces used by applications such as home automation, sensor networks, smart grid, and healthcare. The author--a noted expert in the field--examines IoT as a protocol-stack detailing the physical layer of the wireless links, as both a radio and a modem, and the media access control (MAC) that enables communication in congested bands. Focusing on low-power wireless personal area networks (WPANs) the text outlines the physical and MAC layer standards used by ZigBee, Bluetooth LE, Z-Wave, and Thread. The text deconstructs these standards and provides background including relevant communication theory, modulation schemes, and access methods. The author includes a discussion on Wi-Fi and gateways, and explores their role in IoT. He introduces radio topologies used in software-defined radio implementations for the WPANs. The book also discusses channel modelling and link budget analysis for WPANs in IoT. This important text: Introduces IEEE 802.15.4, ITU-T G.9959, and Bluetooth LE as physical layer technology standards enabling wireless IoT Takes a layered approach in order to cultivate an appreciation for the various standards that enable interoperability Provides clarity on wireless standards with particular focus on actual implementation Written for IoT application and platform developers as well as digital signal processing, network, and wireless communication engineers; The Wireless Internet of Things: A Guide to the Lower Layersoffers an inclusive overview of the complex field of wireless IoT, exploring its beneficial applications that are proliferating in a variety of industries.
Call Number: 004.678 C428
Publication Date: 2019
Basic Radar Tracking by Mervin C. Budge; Shawn GermanDetailed closed-loop bandwidth and transient response approach is a subject rarely found in current literature. This innovative resource offers practical explanations of closed-loop radar tracking techniques in range, Doppler and angle tracking. To address analog closed loop trackers, a review of basic control theory and modeling is included. In addition, control theory, radar receivers, signal processors, and circuitry and algorithms necessary to form the signals needed in a tracker are presented. Digital trackers and multiple target tracking are also covered, focusing on g-h and g-h-k filters. Readers learn techniques for modeling digital, closed-loop trackers. The radar circuitry/block diagrams necessary for range, Doppler and angle tracking are presented and described, with examples and simulations included. Factors such as noise and Swerling type fluctuations are taken into account. In addition to numerous worked examples, this approachable reference includes MATLAB® code associated with analysis, simulations and figures. The book contains solutions to practical problems, making it useful for both novice and advanced radar practitioners. Software will be available on the ArtechHouse website at www.artechhouse.com/.
Call Number: 621.3848 B859
Publication Date: 2019
Security, Privacy and Digital Forensics in the Cloud by Lei Chen (Editor); Hassan Takabi (Editor); Nhien-An Le-Khac (Editor)In a unique and systematic way, this book discusses the security and privacy aspects of the cloud, and the relevant cloud forensics. Cloud computing is an emerging yet revolutionary technology that has been changing the way people live and work. However, with the continuous growth of cloud computing and related services, security and privacy has become a critical issue. Written by some of the top experts in the field, this book specifically discusses security and privacy of the cloud, as well as the digital forensics of cloud data, applications, and services. The first half of the book enables readers to have a comprehensive understanding and background of cloud security, which will help them through the digital investigation guidance and recommendations found in the second half of the book. Part One of Security, Privacy and Digital Forensics in the Cloud covers cloud infrastructure security; confidentiality of data; access control in cloud IaaS; cloud security and privacy management; hacking and countermeasures; risk management and disaster recovery; auditing and compliance; and security as a service (SaaS). Part Two addresses cloud forensics - model, challenges, and approaches; cyberterrorism in the cloud; digital forensic process and model in the cloud; data acquisition; digital evidence management, presentation, and court preparation; analysis of digital evidence; and forensics as a service (FaaS). Thoroughly covers both security and privacy of cloud and digital forensics Contributions by top researchers from the U.S., the European and other countries, and professionals active in the field of information and network security, digital and computer forensics, and cloud and big data Of interest to those focused upon security and implementation, and incident management Logical, well-structured, and organized to facilitate comprehension Security, Privacy and Digital Forensics in the Cloud is an ideal book for advanced undergraduate and master's-level students in information systems, information technology, computer and network forensics, as well as computer science. It can also serve as a good reference book for security professionals, digital forensics practitioners and cloud service providers.
Call Number: 004.6782 Se26
Publication Date: 2019
Information and Communication Theory by Stefan HöstAn important text that offers an in-depth guide to how information theory sets the boundaries for data communication In an accessible and practical style, Information and Communication Theory explores the topic of information theory and includes concrete tools that are appropriate for real-life communication systems. The text investigates the connection between theoretical and practical applications through a wide-variety of topics including an introduction to the basics of probability theory, information, (lossless) source coding, typical sequences as a central concept, channel coding, continuous random variables, Gaussian channels, discrete input continuous channels, and a brief look at rate distortion theory. The author explains the fundamental theory together with typical compression algorithms and how they are used in reality. He moves on to review source coding and how much a source can be compressed, and also explains algorithms such as the LZ family with applications to e.g. zip or png. In addition to exploring the channel coding theorem, the book includes illustrative examples of codes. This comprehensive text: Provides an adaptive version of Huffman coding that estimates source distribution Contains a series of problems that enhance an understanding of information presented in the text Covers a variety of topics including optimal source coding, channel coding, modulation and much more Includes appendices that explore probability distributions and the sampling theorem Written for graduate and undergraduate students studying information theory, as well as professional engineers, master's students, Information and Communication Theory offers an introduction to how information theory sets the boundaries for data communication.