Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
圖書推薦 Books For You
Compendium of Biomedical Instrumentation by
An essential reference filled with 400 of today's current biomedical instruments and devices Designed mainly for the active bio-medical equipment technologists involved in hands-on functions like managing these technologies by way of their usage, operation & maintenance and those engaged in advancing measurement techniques through research and development, this book covers almost the entire range of instruments and devices used for diagnosis, imaging, analysis, and therapy in the medical field. Compiling 400 instruments in alphabetical order, it provides comprehensive information on each instrument in a lucid style. Each description in Compendium of Biomedical Instrumentation covers four aspects: purpose of the instrument; principle of operation, which covers physics, engineering, electronics, and data processing; brief specifications; and major applications. Devices listed range from the accelerometer, ballistocardiograph, microscopes, lasers, and electrocardiograph to gamma counter, hyperthermia system, microtome, positron emission tomography, uroflowmeter, and many more. Covers almost the entire range of medical instruments and devices which are generally available in hospitals, medical institutes at tertiary, secondary, and peripheral level facilities Presents broad areas of applications of medical instruments/technology, including specialized equipment for various medical specialties, fully illustrated with figures & photographs Contains exhaustive description on state of the art instruments and also includes some generation old legacy instruments which are still in use in some medical facilities. Compendium of Biomedical Instrumentation is a must-have resource for professionals and undergraduate and graduate students in biomedical engineering, as well as for clinical engineers and bio-medical equipment technicians.
Call Number: 610.284 K527-1 v.1
Publication Date: 2020
Principles of Biomedical Instrumentation by
This accessible yet in-depth textbook describes the step-by-step processes involved in biomedical device design. Integrating microfabrication techniques, sensors and digital signal processing with key clinical applications, it covers: the measurement, amplification and digitization of physiological signals, and the removal of interfering signals; the transmission of signals from implanted sensors through the body, and the issues surrounding the powering of these sensors; networks for transferring sensitive patient data to hospitals for continuous home-monitoring systems; tests for ensuring patient safety; the cost-benefit and technological trade-offs involved in device design; and current challenges in biomedical device design. With dedicated chapters on electrocardiography, digital hearing aids and mobile health, and including numerous end-of-chapter homework problems, online solutions and additional references for extended learning, it is the ideal resource for senior undergraduate students taking courses in biomedical instrumentation and clinical technology.
Call Number: 610.284 W381
Publication Date: 2018
Signal Processing and Machine Learning for Biomedical Big Data by
Within the healthcare domain, big data is defined as any ``high volume, high diversity biological, clinical, environmental, and lifestyle information collected from single individuals to large cohorts, in relation to their health and wellness status, at one or several time points.'' Such data is crucial because within it lies vast amounts of invaluable information that could potentially change a patient's life, opening doors to alternate therapies, drugs, and diagnostic tools. Signal Processing and Machine Learning for Biomedical Big Data thus discusses modalities; the numerous ways in which this data is captured via sensors; and various sample rates and dimensionalities. Capturing, analyzing, storing, and visualizing such massive data has required new shifts in signal processing paradigms and new ways of combining signal processing with machine learning tools. This book covers several of these aspects in two ways: firstly, through theoretical signal processing chapters where tools aimed at big data (be it biomedical or otherwise) are described; and, secondly, through application-driven chapters focusing on existing applications of signal processing and machine learning for big biomedical data. This text aimed at the curious researcher working in the field, as well as undergraduate and graduate students eager to learn how signal processing can help with big data analysis. It is the hope of Drs. Sejdic and Falk that this book will bring together signal processing and machine learning researchers to unlock existing bottlenecks within the healthcare field, thereby improving patient quality-of-life. Provides an overview of recent state-of-the-art signal processing and machine learning algorithms for biomedical big data, including applications in the neuroimaging, cardiac, retinal, genomic, sleep, patient outcome prediction, critical care, and rehabilitation domains. Provides contributed chapters from world leaders in the fields of big data and signal processing, covering topics such as data quality, data compression, statistical and graph signal processing techniques, and deep learning and their applications within the biomedical sphere. This book's material covers how expert domain knowledge can be used to advance signal processing and machine learning for biomedical big data applications.
Call Number: 610.285 Si26
Publication Date: 2018
Biomechanics of Human Motion by
Biomechanics of Human Motion: Applications in the Martial Arts, Second Edition, explores the biomechanical principles of nine different forms of martial arts, with specific attention paid to their anatomical features. Within this examination, Professor Arus highlights the use of energy and force especially in Kyusho-Jutsu. Whereas the first edition provided an in-depth explanation of the Aikido techniques of Kokyu-ryoku, the second edition focusses specifically on the grabbing and liberation techniques used in Kyusho-Jutsu. Such an examination stresses the importance of vital points, "finger manipulation", and their co rresponding emphasis on energy usage. As Professor Arus details throughout Biomechanics of Human Motion, Second Edition, knowledge of this form of pressure point maneuvering is useful in both attack and counterattack situations, especially since the martial artist's anatomo-physiological adaptation to effort represents the most significant development in fighting regimens. The second edition also includes a discussion of the katana. Professor Arus notes that defense against the katana is nearly impossible, describing the three major steps used in Japanese (Ma). It is customary in Aikido to defend against a wooden sword. By using a wooden sword, an Aikido Master's demonstration is pre-determined. Techniques to defend against these demonstrations are discussed throughout the book. Finally, various attack and defense techniques using pressure points are also explained in Biomechanics of Human Motion, Second Edition.
Call Number: 796.8 Ar85 2018
Publication Date: 2017
Introduction to Biomedical Instrumentation by
This fully updated second edition provides readers with all they need to understand the use of medical technology in patient care. Incorporating the most recent changes in healthcare, regulations, Standards, and technology, coverage is expanded to include new chapters on device testing, with a particular emphasis on safety inspections, and the interface of medical technology with the electronic medical record. A wide variety of medical instrumentation is discussed, focusing on device types and classifications, and including individual manufacturers as examples. It is designed for readers with a fundamental understanding of anatomy, physiology and medical terminology, as well as electronic concepts such as voltage, current, resistance, impedance, analog and digital signals, and sensors. Additional documents and solutions to end-of-chapter questions accompany the book online, providing biomedical engineering technicians with the resources and tools they need to become knowledgeable and effective members of the patient care team.
Call Number: 610.28 C461 2018
Publication Date: 2017
館藏資源 Collections Search
圖書/期刊 Books & Journals
電子資源 Electronic Resources