Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
圖書推薦 Books For You
Academic Library Services for Graduate Students by Providing practical and theoretical chapters on academic library services for graduate students, this volume helps information professionals support this often-overlooked campus population to address their multiple roles and identities as students and as future faculty members or professionals. As more and more students attend graduate programs, many higher education institutions have established professional development programs to help graduate students learn the wide range of skills needed to be successful as both students and as future professionals or academics. To presuppose that graduate students are proficient library users is a mistake. Graduate students need and want help, and many libraries are now offering specialized services for this diverse population. Contributors to this edited volume provide case studies and practical advice on academic library services for graduate students that support their multiple roles on campus and address the complex social and emotional issues related to their other roles as parents, working adults, caretakers, and more. As academic libraries shift from functioning primarily as collections repositories to collaborating as key players in discovery and knowledge creation, value-added services for graduate students are even more central to libraries' changing missions. This book makes an important contribution to the ongoing professional conversation and is a useful tool for librarians who want to better support graduate students at their institutions. Provides case studies and practical advice for specialized library services for an often-overlooked academic population Highlights innovative designs for instructional and outreach programming, as well as physical library spaces, that target the needs of graduate students Describes best practices for tailoring library services to the unique needs of graduate students with divergent career goals Demonstrates how academic librarians can contribute to lifelong learning and workplace information literacy by supporting graduate students, not only as students but also as future academics and professionals Details collaborative endeavors that result in services and programming which address the holistic needs of 21st-century graduate students
Call Number: 635.0286 Io8
Publication Date: 2020
Envisioning the Future of Reference by Offering a broad overview of consequential changes in the landscape of reference services, this guide also provides practical guidance on how to meet the new challenges they present. For the past decade, librarians have been lamenting the demise of reference services. Encouraging recent research shows that reference librarians are actually in more demand than ever; however, nearly everything about reference has changed--from technologies, tools, and techniques to models of service. What are these changes, and how can the profession respond to and prepare for shifting priorities and user needs? In this volume, business librarians Diane Zabel and Lauren Reiter bring together a host of experts to answer these timely questions. Topics range from the education and training of professionals to meeting the needs and wants of employers. Covered are trends in chat reference, research consultations, do-it-yourself reference, tracking trends with user populations, assessment, and data-driven decisions about reference services. Grounded in the principle that, regardless of the evolutions in service, the user remains at the center of reference, this guide offers readers an exciting look at the future of this important public service. Informs librarians of trends currently affecting the profession and shows how to deal with them Covers a wide array of topics, from those affecting the education of reference services to assessment of services Provides an in-depth look at new models in reference services
Call Number: 630 F418
Publication Date: 2020
Planning Optimal Library Spaces by Planning Optimal Library Spaces: Principles, Process, and Practices demystifies library space planning, inspires creative thinking, and offers immediate how-to steps to rectify seemingly hopeless situations. It describes an approach to library space planning that introduces and combines a phased implementation strategy with traditional space planning to allow library transformations and renovations to be done as a single project or a series of smaller, separate, and more manageable phased interventions. It allows libraries to meet current needs sooner, as smaller funding opportunities arise, instead of waiting on completely funded projects to develop. Chapters cover the approach, the importance of community engagement meetings, collection storage strategies, the anatomy of a library project budget, recommendations for getting started, and case studies of both public and academic library planning projects with detailed phasing strategies. Printed in full color with 148 images, this is a must-have book for librarians, architects, government/education administrators, and anyone involved with, or even thinking about a library planning or renovation project.
Call Number: 022.3 M782
Publication Date: 2018
The Reference Librarian's Bible by Divided into dedicated categories about the subjects most meaningful to librarians, this valuable resource reviews 500 texts across all major fields. Drawing on their collective experience in reference services and sifting through nearly 30,000 reviews in ARBAonline, editors Steven Sowards, associate director for collection at Michigan State University Libraries, and Juneal Chenoweth, editor of American Reference Books Annual, curated this collection of titles, most of which have been published since 2000, to serve collections and reference librarians in academic and public libraries. From the Encyclopedia of Philosophy and the Social Sciences and Encyclopedia of the Civil War to the Encyclopedia of Physics, Encyclopedia of Insects, and Taylor's Encyclopedia of Garden Plants to the formidable Oxford English Dictionary, The Reference Librarian's Bible encompasses every subject imaginable and will be your first stop for choosing and evaluating your library's collections as well as for answering patrons' questions. Critically assesses the most widely held reference titles Includes LC and Dewey classifications for every title Makes finding titles easy with organization by subject
Call Number: 621.381 C813
Publication Date: 2018
Makerspaces by Makerspaces: A Practical Guide for Librarians, Second Edition is an A-Z guidebook jam-packed with resources, advice, and information to help you develop and fund your own makerspace from the ground up. Learn what other libraries are making, building, and doing in their makerspaces and how you can, too. Readers are introduced to makerspace equipment, new technologies, models for planning and assessing projects, and useful case studies that will equip them with the knowledge to implement their own library makerspaces. This expanded second edition features eighteen brand new library makerspace profiles providing advice and inspiration for how to create your own library makerspace, over twenty new images and figures illustrating maker tools and trends as well as library makerspaces in action and new lists of actual grant and funding sources for library makerspaces.
Call Number: 620.5 K848
Publication Date: 2018
Copyright © National Chung Hsing University
This guide directs you to resources that will best enable you to conduct Library&Information Science research. If you need more assistance, please ask a Librarian!
館藏資源 Collections Search
圖書/期刊 Books & Journals
電子資源 Electronic Resources
行動版 Go mobile!