Handbook on Measuring Governance by
Measuring governance has become an increasingly important feature of modern societies, with organizations and institutions expected to prove their worth by quantifying their activities and results. This unique Handbook maps historical developments, theoretical conceptions and key approaches, and summarizes what is known about measuring governance from a variety of fields of practice. Peter Triantafillou and Jenny M. Lewis bring together an array of leading international academics to examine how governance is measured across different policy sectors and levels of government. Chapters explore the sociological theory of measurement, the quality of collaborative governance processes, governance in public health care and global development cooperation. The editors and contributors have combined theoretical thinking with empirical findings to support this comprehensive overview of measuring governance, providing a significant contribution to the ongoing discourse in this field. This thought-provoking Handbook will appeal to public administration and public policy professionals, as well as business and government practitioners at a national and international level. It will also prove highly beneficial to students, academics and researchers in governance, social policy, business and management and political science.
Public Sector Management by
In an era marked by unprecedented challenges, from the climate crisis to the rise of populism, the ways to manage public sector organisations have dramatically changed. In the eighth edition of this bestselling textbook, Flynn and Asquer offer the definitive introduction to public administration. Now substantially revised and updated throughout, this text reflects the latest approaches, tools and techniques that help governments respond to the multifaceted problems facing societies today and pre-empt those of tomorrow. Recognising the importance of context, Public Sector Managementunderscores that one-size-fits-all management practices are inadequate. Learn how public sector management adapts to changing political climates and societal pressures and be guided through the intricacies of making evidence-based policies while acknowledging the political dynamics that shape them. Updates to the eighth edition include: · A Global Perspective: Explore variations in public sector management shaped by cultural, historical, and institutional contexts, and gain a deep understanding of how governments address challenges in unique ways. · Balancing Theory and Practice: the new edition offers amore detailed and holistic perspective on public sector management by bringing in the latest theoretical insights and real-world public sector management practices. · Adapting to Change and tacking today's issues: Confront the challenges faced in the age of technology, from artificial intelligence to Big Data; the climate crisis and clean energy transitions; and resulting from the latest geopolitical shifts including workforce migration to the erosion of trust in democracies. · A Call for Contextual Understanding: Learn how factors such as heterogeneity, population, income inequality, and technological access influence public sector management practices. Public Sector Management is essential reading for upper undergraduate and postgraduate students studying public sector management or public administration and is perfect for those studying on a Master of Public Administration programme. Norman Flynn was Director of the Centre for Financial and Management Studies, SOAS, University of London and Programme Director of the MSc in Public Policy and Management. Alberto Asquer is Head of the School of Finance and Management, Programme Director, MSc Public Policy and Management, and Senior Lecturer of Public Policy and Management at SOAS University of London
Research Handbook on Public Management and Artificial Intelligence by
This pioneering Research Handbook on Public Management and Artificial Intelligenceprovides a comprehensive overview of the potentials, challenges, and governance principles of AI in a public management context. Multidisciplinary in approach, it draws on a variety of jurisdictional perspectives and expertly analyses key topics relating to this socio-technical phenomenon. Showcasing contributions by a collection of eminent scholars from across the globe, this Research Handbook presents cutting-edge research on AI in public management. Organised into three parts corresponding with distinct foci of research, it explores the adoption and implementation of AI in public management settings, presents specific case studies and examples of AI in the public sector, and outlines future trends and directions in the evolution of AI adoption and use in public management. Based on empirical research from a global perspective, this Research Handbook will prove invaluable to practitioners, policymakers, and public managers both as users and co-creators of AI-enabled services. Researchers and academics in the fields of organisational innovation, public management, technology, public administration, and public policy will also find this to be an essential read.
The Politics of Policymaking by
Never has good policy been so important. From unemployment and a lack of affordable housing to regulating cryptocurrencies and protecting against cybersecurity threats, the challenges we face are complex and global. The text explains how policymaking works: from the emergence of policy ideas to deciding between cutting-edge solutions, from evaluating policies to improving policymaking practices, using examples from around the world. Open up the black box of government to see where policies are made. This introductory text takes you beyond theory and into the messy world of policymaking, offering a toolkit for making better policy. Drawing from insights earned through years of interactions with policymakers and extensive teaching experience, Boin and Lodge offer a comprehensive introduction to the inner workings of government and how to produce policies that address societal problems of today and tomorrow. The Politics of Policymaking teaches you the connections between policies, their effects, and the society they impact. It explores the interplay between citizens, policymakers and politicians, and the intricate web of policy decisions. Reflective questions help to engage readers with the key themes and to reflect on the challenges of policymaking in practice. A global perspective enables you to learn from diverse viewpoints and see examples from around the world. Timely and cutting-edge, this book tackles contemporary policy issues--platform economies, climate change, and more - while delving into crucial theoretical tools like political legitimacy and reform. An assignment feature provides you with the opportunity to consolidate your learning and put it into practice. This text is an essential companion for any undergraduate or postgraduate student of Politics, International Relations, and Public Administration and for anyone aspiring to work in public policy. Arjen Boin is Professor of Public Institutions and Governance at Leiden University, the Netherlands. Martin Lodge is Professor of Political Science and Public Policy at London school of Economics and Political Science.
Elgar Encyclopedia of Nonprofit Management, Leadership and Governance by
The Elgar Encyclopedia of Nonprofit Management, Leadership and Governanceis the ultimate reference guide for those interested in the rapidly growing nonprofit sector. Each insightful entry includes a definition of the concept, practical applications in nonprofit organizations, and discussion of current issues and future directions. With contributions from over 200 renowned experts in the field, this Encyclopedia provides a comprehensive overview of the essential topics related to nonprofit management, leadership and governance. Entries explore a diverse range of issues and actors within the nonprofit sector, including business planning, crowdfunding and fundraising, governing boards, mergers and acquisitions, risk management, stakeholder management and wealth inequality. They cover the foundations of the sector alongside more current and topical issues including celebrity, diaspora, LGBTQ+ and ePhilanthropy; authoritarian regimes; the digital divide; and the millennial generation's civic engagement. This Encyclopedia is a vital resource for students and scholars of organization studies, business and management, corporate governance, and public administration. Its practical applications will prove beneficial to a diverse range of stakeholders across the nonprofit sector, including professional managers, board members, donors, government officials, and media professionals. Fully cross referenced and accessible in style Authoritative summaries of nearly 200 essential topics Written by leading scholars and practitioners across the field Provides definitions, applications, and discussions of current issues and future directions
本學科指引提供您國家政策與公共事務研究領域的相關資源，整合館藏紙本、電子資源、期刊資源、學位論文、以及校外的網路資源等，主題式的引介各種資源使用。
若需更進一步的協助，請與學科館員聯絡。
本館館藏資源以配合校內師生教學研究之需要為主，舉凡相關之圖書、期刊、多媒體資料、電子資源等均予蒐藏。
圖書/期刊 Books & Journals
電子資源 Electronic Resources
