Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
好書推薦 Books for you
Cellular Biology of the Endoplasmic Reticulum by
This book provides a comprehensive overview of the biology of the endoplasmic reticulum (ER) and the associated ER proteins, it discusses their structure, function and signaling mechanisms in the cell and their role in disease. This book also offers insights into the practical aspects of research and demonstrates the use of non-mammalian models to study the structure and function of the ER. Written by leading experts in the field, the book enables readers to gain a thorough understanding of current ER biology. It is intended for scientists and clinical researchers working on the endoplasmic reticulum in all its various roles and facets in health and disease.
Publication Date: 2021
Tumor Microenvironment by
The way a cell undergoes malignant transformation should meet their capacity of surviving in the microenvironment of the organ where the cancer will develop. Metabolic adaptation is for sure one of the criteria that must be accomplished, driven by metabolic plasticity that allows the adaptation of cancer cells to the availability of energy and biomass sources that will sustain cell survival and proliferation. Each human organ has a particular microenvironment which depends on several cell types and in some cases also on symbiotic microorganisms. These biological partners are constantly sharing organic compounds and signaling molecules that will control mitogenesis, cell death and differentiation, accounting for the organ's function. Nevertheless, cancer cells are capable of taking advantage of this metabolic and signaling microenvironmental dynamics. In this book, we intend to present the different components of the microenvironment driving the metabolic fitness of cancer cells. The metabolic changes required for establishing a tumor in a given microenvironment and how these metabolic changes limit the response to drugs will generally be the major items addressed. It is important to mention not only aspects of the microenvironment that stimulate metabolic changes and that select better adapted tumor cells, but also how this regulation of cell plasticity is made. Thus, the signaling pathways that orchestrate and are orchestrated throughout this panoply of metabolic rearrangements will also be addressed in this book. The subjects will be presented from the conceptual point of view of the cross-cancer mechanisms and also particularizing some models that can be examples and enlightening within the different areas.
Publication Date: 2020
A Handbook of Environmental Toxicology by
A Handbook of Environmental Toxicology focuses on two key aspects: human disorders and ecotoxicology as affected by major toxins originating from biological sources and pollutants, as well as radiation generated spontaneously or as a result of anthropogenic activity. A diverse array of these potentially harmful agents regularly appear in the atmosphere, soil, water and food, compromising both human health and biodiversity in natural and managed ecosystems. This book: - provides authoritative reviews together with specialist short communications to complement the main chapters and address contemporary issues with important case studies; - explores the cutting edge of research and also indicates the likely direction of future developments; - contains extensive coverage of toxicants that are of significant current interest and will be of increasing concern for many years to come; and - encourages international cooperation in future research on pollution and other environmental agents causing harm to human health and degradation of natural habitats in the ecosystem. Written by an international team of authors from a range of educational, medical and research establishments, this book is an essential reference for advanced students and researchers in the areas of environmental sciences, ecology, agriculture, environmental health and medicine, in addition to industry and government personnel responsible for environmental regulations and directives.
Publication Date: 2020
Horizons in World Cardiovascular Research. Volume 20 by
Volume 20 first explores preventive cardiology, a new subspecialty in cardiovascular medicine, discussing how it is possible to modify lifestyle and coronary risk factors well in advance of clinical events. The authors describes an approach to echocardiography of the aortic arch for reliable demonstration of the arch segments while reducing confounding from a patent ductus arteriosus. This compilation goes on to discuss intravascular ultrasound, which complements the conventional angiographic study and allows for the acquirement of high definition images of arteries for the evaluation of atheroma plaques. Additionally, a brief presentation of the X-ray angiography image processing methods is provided. The perioperative use of dexmedetomidine in cardiac surgery, specifically its role in early extubation, delirium management, and reducing morbidity is assessed. Evidence-based treatments for secondary prevention of ischemic heart diseases are described, including the use of antiplatelet agents, beta-blockers, angiotensin-converting enzyme inhibitors, and statins, as well as lifestyle modifications. The authors propose that the assessment of renal function in patients with heart failure is very important because it can reflect their hemodynamic status and provide a better prognostic score. The authors describe some of the common drug-related problems in patients with cardiovascular diseases, as well as their consequences, so as to identify patients who may be at risk and review several interventions designed to limit their occurrence. The closing study discusses how, to further evaluate for an aortic dissection, additional official radiologic studies likely need to be obtained to aid in diagnosis and operative planning.
Publication Date: 2020
Reactive Oxygen Species (ROS), Nanoparticles, and Endoplasmic Reticulum (ER) Stress-Induced Cell Death Mechanisms by
Reactive Oxygen Species (ROS), Nanoparticles, and Endoplasmic Reticulum (ER) Stress-Induced Cell Death Mechanisms presents the role of ROS?mediated pathways cellular signaling stress, endoplasmic reticulum (ER) stress, oxidative stress, oxidative damage, nanomaterials, and the mechanisms by which metalloids and nanoparticles induce their toxic effects. The book covers the ecotoxicology of environmental heavy metal ions and free radicals on macromolecules cells organisms, heavy metals?induced cell responses, oxidative stress, the source of oxidants, and the roles of ROS, oxidative stress and oxidative damage mechanisms. It also examines the nanotoxicity, cytotoxicity and genotoxicity mechanisms of nanomaterials and the effects of nanoparticle interactions. Antioxidant defense therapy and strategies for treatment round out the book, making it an ideal resource for researchers and professional scientists in toxicology, environmental chemistry, environmental science, nanomaterials and the pharmaceutical sciences.
Publication Date: 2020
館藏資源 Collections Search
圖書/期刊 Books & Journals
電子資源 Electronic Resources
Copyright © National Chung Hsing University