Corporate Finance by
Get a distinctly European take on corporate finance The newly revised Sixth Edition of Corporate Finance: Theory and Practice delivers a uniquely European perspective on the foundations and latest trends in corporate finance, including the marked shifts brought about by sustainability, environmental, and social concerns. Containing updated statistics and graphs, the book covers the latest innovations in financial practice, like the rise of private equity investment, the continuous decline in listed companies, and the dramatic surge of sustainability-linked financing products. Readers get access to an accompanying website that offers regularly updated statistics, graphs, and charts, direct email access to the authors, quizzes, case studies, articles, and more. The book also includes: A balanced blend of theory and practice from an author team with a presence in academia and business Access to The Vernimmen.com Newsletter, which provides monthly updates on corporate finance to over 60,000 subscribers Ideal for students studying corporate finance as part of an MBA or a master's level programme in Finance, Corporate Finance: Theory and Practice is also required reading for practicing professionals in the UK and continental Europe seeking a distinctly European treatment of a critically important subject.
Build by
**New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USAToday Bestseller** Tony Fadell led the teams that created the iPod, iPhone and Nest Learning Thermostat and learned enough in 30+ years in Silicon Valley about leadership, design, startups, Apple, Google, decision-making, mentorship, devastating failure and unbelievable success to fill an encyclopedia. So that's what this book is. An advice encyclopedia. A mentor in a box. Written for anyone who wants to grow at work--from young grads navigating their first jobs to CEOs deciding whether to sell their company--Build is full of personal stories, practical advice and fascinating insights into some of the most impactful products and people of the 20th century. Each quick 5-20 page entry builds on the previous one, charting Tony's personal journey from a product designer to a leader, from a startup founder to an executive to a mentor. Tony uses examples that are instantly captivating, like the process of building the very first iPod and iPhone. Every chapter is designed to help readers with a problem they're facing right now--how to get funding for their startup, whether to quit their job or not, or just how to deal with the jerk in the next cubicle. Tony forged his path to success alongside mentors like Steve Jobs and Bill Campbell, icons of Silicon Valley who succeeded time and time again. But Tony doesn't follow the Silicon Valley credo that you have to reinvent everything from scratch to make something great. His advice is unorthodox because it's old school. Because Tony's learned that human nature doesn't change. You don't have to reinvent how you lead and manage--just what you make. And Tony's ready to help everyone make things worth making.
Trade Unions and Regions by
Trade Unions and Regions: Better Work, Experimentation, and Regional Governance is about the place of workers and their unions in the modern world. It addresses current challenges for unions working in regions and the experiments that may take place at this level of governance. The book addresses pressing questions concerned with the conditions for better work and a humane society. The focus is on the capacities of unions to address questions relating to regional governance, in both supranational and sub-national regions. It examines workers and their unions in a variety of contexts: multinationals, industries, workplaces, and communities. The authors address the experiments that can be initiated by unions, governments, or employers and the ways in which collective organisations engage to address these matters in regional contexts. The analysis takes as a starting point the fracturing and divisions evident in various regions, in Australia, Canada, Mexico, Spain, the United Kingdom, and USA. The contributors propose novel analyses with lessons for unions. It should be of interest to union activists and leaders, political parties, governments, and those who make decisions in and about regions. Researchers and students of labour markets, political mobilisation, and employment relations will take the analyses further.
Handbook of Accounting and Sustainability by
This Handbook provides a comprehensive study of research, practice and policy at the nexus of accounting and sustainability, or sustainable development. Internationally renowned accounting academics in the field offer critical discussions of the topic to stimulate debate as the future policy infrastructure is formed. Chapters explain key drivers of developments at the nexus, critique those developments, summarise the findings of research on key themes in the field, and suggest areas for further research, offering evidence-based practice and policy solutions. The Handbook sets the scene by exploring accounting, power, social justice and unsustainability, before moving on to appraise the role of enterprise value-based integrated reporting in (un)sustainable development. It further analyses contemporary issues in the field, including climate change-related disclosures, accounting for greenhouse gases and emissions trading schemes. The thorough coverage of key issues in accounting and sustainability, and the analysis of research literature in the Handbook will make this a critical read for accounting and business researchers and students. It is an invigorating guide for policymakers and policy influencers, accounting professionals and business leaders looking to move forward in a more sustainable way.
Text As Data by
Text As Data: Combining qualitative and quantitative algorithms within the SAS system for accurate, effective and understandable text analytics The need for powerful, accurate and increasingly automatic text analysis software in modern information technology has dramatically increased. Fields as diverse as financial management, fraud and cybercrime prevention, Pharmaceutical R&D, social media marketing, customer care, and health services are implementing more comprehensive text-inclusive, analytics strategies. Text as Data: Computational Methods of Understanding Written Expression Using SAS presents an overview of text analytics and the critical role SAS software plays in combining linguistic and quantitative algorithms in the evolution of this dynamic field. Drawing on over two decades of experience in text analytics, authors Barry deVille and Gurpreet Singh Bawa examine the evolution of text mining and cloud-based solutions, and the development of SAS Visual Text Analytics. By integrating quantitative data and textual analysis with advanced computer learning principles, the authors demonstrate the combined advantages of SAS compared to standard approaches, and show how approaching text as qualitative data within a quantitative analytics framework produces more detailed, accurate, and explanatory results. Understand the role of linguistics, machine learning, and multiple data sources in the text analytics workflow Understand how a range of quantitative algorithms and data representations reflect contextual effects to shape meaning and understanding Access online data and code repositories, videos, tutorials, and case studies Learn how SAS extends quantitative algorithms to produce expanded text analytics capabilities Redefine text in terms of data for more accurate analysis This book offers a thorough introduction to the framework and dynamics of text analytics--and the underlying principles at work--and provides an in-depth examination of the interplay between qualitative-linguistic and quantitative, data-driven aspects of data analysis. The treatment begins with a discussion on expression parsing and detection and provides insight into the core principles and practices of text parsing, theme, and topic detection. It includes advanced topics such as contextual effects in numeric and textual data manipulation, fine-tuning text meaning and disambiguation. As the first resource to leverage the power of SAS for text analytics, Text as Data is an essential resource for SAS users and data scientists in any industry or academic application.
本學科指引提供您會計學研究的資源，透過圖書館的蒐集與整理，整合館藏紙本、電子以及校外的網路資源，按資料類型排列彙編，主題式的 引介各種資源， 提供兼具廣度與深度的資料。
若您需要更進一步的協助，請與館員聯絡。
This guide directs you to resources that will best enable you to conduct accounting research. If you need more assistance, please Ask a Librarian!
本館館藏資源以配合校內師生教學研究之需要為主，舉凡相關之圖書、期刊、多媒體資料、電子資源等均予蒐藏。
圖書/期刊 Books & Journals
電子資源 Electronic Resources
